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INTRODUCTION 
The Department has proposed changes to 18 AAC 36 (Animal Health) to update the animal 
disease testing regulations, to come into compliance with federal rules relating to animal 
diseases and importation, and to set minimum care standards for animals. 
 

Animal Health 
These revisions allow the state to remain consistent with federal animal disease standards, 
which will allow continued movement of animals across state lines. Consequences of not 
adopting the federal standards into state regulations would mean that sheep and goats could 
not easily leave the State of Alaska without the animals being registered and enrolled in a 
federal program for a five year period prior to departure.  
 
In addition to remaining consistent with federal law, the changes will ease the burden with 
moving animals in/out of the state. For example, Alaska is the only state that requires an 
Equine Infectious Anemia test within 60 days of import/export, when other states allow a less 
stringent 180 days to one year timeframe. These amendments adopt the 180-day standard. 
 
Other animal health regulations were outdated with respect to several disease of importance, 
and have been updated. For example, trichomonas, which does not cause illness in bulls, is a 
major cause of infertility in cattle in the western U.S. and Canada. Infection can result in 
significant economic loss to cattle producers due to a reduced calf crop of up to 50% and lower 
overall weaning weights. Prior to these revisions, all western states had testing requirements 
for importation of bulls except for Alaska.    
 
Most of the regulations that are being updated are related to farms that are involved in 
commercial markets or moving animals interstate. This is where the public is demanding 
traceability, so that if there is an outbreak, the source of the disease agent can be identified to 
prevent further spread to other animals or to people. The revised regulations will not increase 
paperwork or regulatory requirements for the average livestock or pet owner. If a sheep owner 
is raising animals for commercial markets (for sale of meat or breeding animals) they would be 
required to have official ear tags, but these may be obtained for free from the Office of the 
State Veterinarian, and the State would assume the duty of maintaining records.  
 

Animal Care Standards 
The Department also included new sections to provide clear, objective criteria to determine 
whether a person’s conduct meets the “minimum standards of care for animals” as required in 
A.S. 03.55.100. Providing objective criteria through regulation will assist peace officers, 
veterinarians, and others dealing with reports of animal cruelty, and will also allow livestock 
producers in the state to certify or otherwise represent to their customers that their farms 
meet a minimum accepted standard of care.  
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From 2011 to 2012, 14 public workshops were held around the state to discuss the animal care 
standards portion of the regulations. During this time, contacts were made with a number of 
producers in the agriculture and dairy industries in Alaska, the Alaska Farm Bureau, 
representatives from the National Farm Bureau, the Kawerak Reindeer Herders Association, 
animal rescue, adoption and welfare organizations (Alaska SPCA, Alaska Office of HSUS, Alaska 
Equine Rescue, Alaska Animal Rescue, and others), as well as municipal animal control 
managers and veterinarians. After careful consideration of all commentary, the original draft 
standards were significantly streamlined for simplicity to address public input while still 
maintaining a reasonable set of minimum standards based on scientific research and sound 
animal husbandry practices. The staff who reviewed the input received on the early “straw” 
proposal report that the overwhelming majority of the people who commented favored the 
State initiating a rule-making to establish objective standards.  
 
While the regulations do codify requirements on animal owners in regards to care standards, 
they are definitely minimum care standards and are far below standards set by 4H and national 
livestock organizations. To most responsible animal owners, the regulations will be common-
sense and not burdensome. 
 

Reorganization of 18 AAC 36 
Several sections of 18 AAC 36 were reorganized as part of this regulations project, which 
resulted in significant misperceptions by the public. As evidenced by several of the comments 
received, many people mistakenly thought that all sections were new requirements, when in 
reality, many sections were repealed and then readopted under new section numbers. Editor’s 
Notes below each of those sections linked the old section number to the new number where 
appropriate. 
 

OPPORTUNITIES FOR PUBLIC PARTICIPATION 
The Division distributed notice of the proposed changes to 18 AAC 36 in accordance with 
AS 44.62.190. Official notice to the public was made on the Alaska Online Public Notice system 
on August 12, 2016, and downloadable files of the proposed regulations and public notice were 
made available on the Office of the State Veterinarian’s website. Notice was published in 
several newspapers around the state including: 
 

• Alaska Dispatch News – August 16, 2016 
• Mat-Su Valley Frontiersman – August 19, 2016 
• Delta Wind – August 18, 2016 
• Peninsula Clarion – August 18, 2016 
• Fairbanks Daily News-Miner – August 17, 2016 

 
Additionally, the Division mailed approximately 150 packets containing the public notice, 
additional regulations notice information, and a cover letter to individuals and organizations. A 
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good faith effort was made to reach organizations such as the Alaska Farm Bureau, Alaska 
Diversified Livestock Association, Alaska Veterinary Medical Association, municipal animal 
control offices, and all livestock producers listed in the Alaska Grown Sourcebook. 
 
In response to questions received during the public comment period, a frequently asked 
questions (FAQ) document was created and posted online. The list of questions and answers 
was updated periodically as needed throughout the public comment period.  The FAQs are 
provided at the end of this responsiveness summary. 
 
The public comment period ended September 16, 2016. The Division received comments from 
15 individuals and organizations. This document summarizes and responds to those comments.  
 

COMMENTS BY CATEGORY 
Fiscal Impact 
 
1. COMMENT: Several commenters expressed concern that this would impact them 

financially, and that the costs for implementing the regulations was not made available.  
 

RESPONSE: Estimated costs to private persons, state agencies, and municipalities were 
considered and made available to the public along with the public notice in the Additional 
Regulation Notice Information. The Department does not anticipate significant costs to 
individuals to comply with the proposed regulations. Required permits, all of which were 
part of the original animal health regulations and not new to the proposed amendments, 
are provided free of charge. New requirements with an expected increase to compliance 
costs include the following for animals being transported into Alaska:  

• Sheep will require blue tongue and brucellosis testing, both diseases are becoming a 
greater issue in Canada and the lower 48 states (this is currently already required for 
goats);  

• Cervids coming into Alaska from regions with brucellosis or tuberculosis will require 
testing for these diseases;  

• Cattle have new trichomoniasis testing requirements for bulls over the age of 18 
months (the cost is approximately $20-$40 per test); and 

• Ferrets coming into Alaska from other states will require a rabies vaccination (the 
cost is approximately $7-$20 per vaccination).  

 
The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased appropriation, 
since the work is the same as the current duties of Office of the State Veterinarian. No 
additional staff are proposed to be hired. 
 
No commenters provided specific information of how the regulations would impact them 
financially, although several alluded to the burdens of compliance. The Department gave 
special consideration of the fiscal impact to livestock owners due to these regulation 



6 
 
 

changes, and still believes that the regulations will protect the health of both domestic 
animals and wildlife, while maintaining the ability to export animals, with only a small 
increase in compliance costs.  
 

Non-Fiscal Impact 
 
2. COMMENT: Several commenters provided non-specific objections to the proposed 

regulations, such as “I believe this will negatively impact the small commercial and 
personal livestock [owner]” and “I am opposed to many of these additional 
rules/regulations”. 

 
RESPONSE: Without specific information of what the commenters objected to, or a 
description of impacts, the Department cannot respond directly to these comments. As 
described in the introduction of this document, the Department is aware of a significant 
misconception regarding the regulation proposal, in that several commenters believed that 
many or most sections were new requirements, when in fact they were existing 
requirements that were renumbered and/or edited for clarity.  
 

3. COMMENT: Several commenters expressed opposition regarding inspection and 
registration of animals. 
 
RESPONSE: Official ID is only required for animals to enter into commercial markets and to 
cross state and international borders.  In Alaska, there are no livestock markets, and since 
the slaughter facilities are considered “small” or “very small” by the USDA, they may or may 
not require the official ear tags, since those facilities will already be recording the owners 
contact information and premises of origin when the animals are delivered to the plant. 
Currently, slaughter facilities in Alaska do not require ear tags. 
 
If official animal IDs are required, they would be distributed to an animal owner by the state 
upon request. The state will also provide the tagging pliers or applicators to the farmer 
upon request. At this time this is provided at no charge but would require that the premises 
be entered into a database to keep track of where the ID tags were sent.  

 
4. COMMENT: One commenter requested that consideration be given to recognizing and 

adopting the Commercial Aquaculture Health Program Standards, since fish are included 
in the definition of “animal”. 
 
RESPONSE: Adoption of commercial aquaculture health program standards goes beyond 
the scope of these proposed regulation revisions.  The State of Alaska prohibits commercial 
fin fish aquaculture (farming), therefore regulations regarding such standards would appear 
to have no or limited benefit.  Currently, the Alaska Department of Fish and Game regulates 
aquatic farming of shellfish, including disease control and inspection requirements, and also 
regulates non-commercial aquaculture, which includes the reporting and control of fish 
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diseases at egg-take sites, hatcheries, and rearing facilities. Future consideration of 
adopting commercial aquaculture health program standards into regulation would require 
an evaluation by both the Department of Environmental Conservation and the Department 
of Fish and Game, as well as a public review process. 
 

5. COMMENT: Some commenters were opposed to the regulations regarding the 
manufacture, transport, and import of veterinary biologics, stating that it would limit 
access to these products, result in greater incidences of disease, and prohibit animal 
owners from treating their own animals. 
 
RESPONSE: As stated in the proposed regulations, the new section (18 AAC 36.410) was 
addressed in the previous version of the regulations at 18 AAC 36.200 and 18 AAC 36.210. 
Those sections, which have been in place since at least 1982, require a permit for the 
manufacture, transport, introduction, and use of veterinary biologics. The proposed 
regulation maintains the permit requirement for manufacture, transport, and import, and 
also provides clarity for what information the permit application has to have, the conditions 
by which the State Veterinarian will approve the application, and a clause that the State 
Veterinarian could revoke an issued permit if it serves the interest of animal or public 
health. 
 
These regulations currently apply, and will continue to apply, to manufacturers of 
veterinary biologics, not the individual end user. Nothing in these regulations prohibits an 
animal owner from providing medical care to their own animals. 
 

6. COMMENT: One commenter was concerned that import of semen would not be 
permitted, because it was a ‘veterinary biologic’. 
 
RESPONSE: The definition of veterinary biologic does not include semen. 
 

7. COMMENT: Some commenters mentioned that there is a lack of large animal 
veterinarians in Alaska, and these regulations will make it more difficult or impossible to 
have their animals properly checked out. Lack of veterinarians in Alaska would result in 
increased slaughter of animals. 
 
RESPONSE: These regulations do not change or impact the access to veterinary treatment. 
The regulations do not require an animal owner to have a veterinarian treat their animal, 
and in fact explicitly allow an owner to care for and provide medical treatment to their own 
animals. 
 

8. COMMENT: Two commenters requested additional time for public comment. 
 
RESPONSE: The Division provided a comment period greater than the minimum 30 days 
required, and a number of methods were also used to timely inform the public and 
interested parties of the opportunity to comment on the proposal. As described above, the 
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Division has spent considerable time over the past several years speaking to agricultural 
groups throughout the state regarding animal health and animal care standards, including 
livestock organizations, veterinarians, cooperative extension agents, and outreach at 
agricultural fairs, in addition to the standard public notice requirements. The request for 
additional time for public comment is denied. 
 

9. COMMENT: Several commenters were opposed to reporting requirements, premise 
registration requirements, and allowing Department staff onto their property.  
 
RESPONSE: Article 3 of the regulations deals with reportable diseases. The list of reportable 
diseases has been part of the state’s veterinary handbook and only addresses a situation 
where one of the specific diseases listed is identified and confirmed to be on the farm. In 
that case, when the laboratory or veterinarian that runs the test identifies a positive case 
they are to report the disease. If the owner submits the sample and receives the positive 
test results they would be responsible to report the disease as well.   

 
It is only when there is such a report that state animal health officials would contact the 
animal owner to start the disease investigation, since these diseases present a significant 
risk to domestic animal and wildlife health or public health. DEC would not initiate an 
inspection of the animals or the property for this purpose unless there was confirmation of 
a reportable disease outbreak.  
 
The other situation where a state animal health official or state trooper initiates 
investigation on a farm occurs when there is a credible report of animal cruelty received 
from a member of the public.  This has been in regulation prior to this proposed regulation 
package. 
 

10. COMMENT: Several commenters mentioned the Alaska Board of Game’s Proposition 90 
and the Wild Sheep Foundation, and said that the restrictions in the proposed regulations 
would be similarly detrimental to livestock management in Alaska. 
 
RESPONSE: The proposed regulations are entirely separate from Proposition 90 which 
would have required any sheep or goat owner to register their herd or pet animal, adhere 
to specific fencing requirements, and prohibit raising sheep or goats in certain areas of the 
state where wild sheep or goats reside.  The regulations proposed by the Division only apply 
to sheep and goat owners who are selling sexually mature animals in a commercial market 
in compliance with the Federal Scrapie rule.  
 

11. COMMENT: Several commenters brought up the issue of food security, expressing 
concerns that the proposed regulations would limit the amount of food production in 
Alaska. 
 
RESPONSE: There are no regulations that prohibit or restrict the production of livestock for 
food production. The regulations were developed to decrease the risk of disease spread to 
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domestic animals and wildlife, decrease the risk of zoonotic disease threat to the public, 
ensure adequate care and husbandry, and if animal products go into commerce, allow the 
public to determine who produced the product. 
 

12. COMMENT: One commenter suggested that the importation requirements be the same as 
the exportation requirements. 
 
RESPONSE: Each state has their own set of import regulations, and there are many other 
states that are far more restrictive. The State of Alaska does not have the authority to 
control import regulations for other states and countries. For example, to bring an animal 
into or transit through Canada requires adherence to Canada’s importation laws, which are 
more burdensome, require permits for entry that do have a fee, and each province of 
Canada may require a separate permit for entry or transit.  
 

13. COMMENT: One commenter suggested that the State consult with farm and animal 
groups prior to proposing new regulations. 
 
RESPONSE: The Division has conducted extensive public outreach since 2011 with affected 
stakeholders, such as the Alaska Farm Bureau, livestock owners, and animal care advocates, 
and staff looks forward to continuing to reach out to all stakeholders with additional 
guidance after the regulations are made effective. 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
The Department answered all questions received through September 6, 2016 and posted the 
answers in a Frequently Asked Questions document posted on the State Vet’s website. 
Questions and answers were as follows. 
 
1. Are the importation permits new? 
 
No. Importation permits for horses, cattle, bison, yak, goats, sheep, pigs, dogs and cats from a 
quarantine area, and poultry and hatching eggs have been required since at least 1982 when 
the first version of 18 AAC 36 (Animal Health) was adopted. 
 
Only the importation permits for cervids (reindeer) and camelids (llamas) have been codified in 
the proposed regulations. 
 
Many of the sections have been re-numbered in an effort to clarify which animals are subject to 
importation permits. For example, for Poultry and Hatching Eggs, the old section (18 AAC 
36.065) was repealed, and the same requirements were added in a new section at 18 AAC 
36.165. This is the case for many of the “new sections”. A crosswalk spreadsheet showing the 
changes, and areas where one section was repealed and then added under a different number 
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is found here [http://dec.alaska.gov/eh/docs/vet/Crosswalk%20-
%20OSV%20Animal%20Health%20Regs%2018%20AAC%2036.pdf]. 
 
2. How does an animal importer obtain an importation permit? 
 
Import permits must be obtained by the veterinarian who issues the health certificate (this is 
not a change from current procedure). It can now be done via our online system, or by phone 
during regular office hours.   
 
3. How much are importation permits? Permits for importing medical biologics? 

Intrastate cervid movement permits? 
 
There is no charge for these permits. 
 
4. Why are the importation regulations being amended? 
 
DEC proposes to revise these regulations to include federal standards for diseases that are not 
already addressed, such as scrapie and chronic wasting disease. These standards need to be 
adopted so that animals in Alaska can continue to cross interstate and international borders for 
import, sales, shows, etc. 
 
If the State of Alaska does not adopt these requirements, it will lose its status as a consistent 
state with the USDA. If this were to occur, other states would not allow import of animals from 
Alaska.  
 
5. If federal rules already exist, why is there a need to duplicate them on the state level? 
 
The federal regulations apply to interstate movement of animals. State regulations may be 
more lenient or restrictive for animals residing in the boundaries or the state. But to move 
animals in commerce as food products or to move animals interstate within the United States 
you have to meet these federal standards. 
 
Some states may have additional regulations over the federal requirements prior to allowing 
animals to reside that state. 
 
6. Why was the length of time for testing for Equine Infectious Anemia lengthened from 

60 days to 180 days? 
 
In the rest of the United States, an equine must test negative for EIA within 180 days of import, 
unlike the current regulation of 60 days in Alaska. This change will make Alaska consistent with 
other states, as well as the USDA and international regulations. This change will also lessen the 
financial burden for people importing horses into Alaska, and will not result in any increased 
disease risk to horses in the state. 
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7. Does this require that I take my pet goat in for testing?  
 
No. 
 
8. What is the purpose of the animal care standards in Article 6? 
 
Peace officers, veterinarians, and others dealing with reports of animal cruelty need clear 
objective criteria to determine whether a person’s conduct meets the “minimum standards of 
care for animals” as required in A.S. 03.55.100. DEC proposes to address this in regulation by 
providing general minimum care standards for all animals, and specific criteria for horses, 
livestock (cattle and other ruminants), pigs, and dogs. Providing objective criteria through 
regulation will also allow animal producers in the state to certify or otherwise represent to their 
customers that their farms meet a minimum accepted standard of care. This will not only help 
in marketing their animals and animal products, but also help inform the public that the state 
has criteria for proper care of animals.  
 
9. Can a village, city, or borough create more stringent animal care standards?  
 
Yes. Nothing in the proposed regulations would prevent a local government from developing 
more stringent animal care standards for their community. 
 
10. What is “humanely euthanized”? Will farmers still be able to put down animals by 

gun? 
 
Humanely euthanized means to end the life of the animal without causing undue pain and 
suffering. The proposed regulations allow owners to euthanize an animal, and a gunshot to the 
head with an appropriate caliber gun is acceptable.  Other acceptable methods are listed in the 
AVMA publication linked here [https://www.avma.org/KB/Policies/Documents/euthanasia.pdf]. 
 
11.  What is the reportable disease list in Article 3? I think I’ve seen this list somewhere 

before - is it a federal list? 
 
This list is currently on the website of the Office of the State Veterinarian, and was originally 
issued as an order of the State Veterinarian many years ago, but not codified in regulations. The 
list has been published for years in the State of Alaska veterinary handbook. The main 
requirement is for veterinarians and laboratories to report the disease to the State. This allows 
the state to take action if needed to control an outbreak. 
 
12.  Why do I need a permit to have chickens? 
 
The proposed regulations do not require you to have a permit to own chickens.  
 
Importation of poultry and hatching eggs is currently regulated by the current version of the 
regulations (dated 1982) at 18 AAC 36.065, and requires an importation permit and health 
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certificate before shipping poultry and hatching eggs in from out of state. The health certificate 
must include a certification that the flock from which the poultry or eggs originate have been 
tested negative for Pullorum and Typhoid disease and that they were produced in compliance 
with the National Poultry Improvement Plan.  
 
When re-organizing the current regulations into the proposed regulations, this section (and 
many others) were re-numbered, and the requirements pertaining to poultry are now found at 
18 AAC 36.165 (the old number - 18 AAC 36.065  was repealed). 
 
When you order chicks for import to Alaska, the hatcheries obtain the (free) permit. 
 
13.  How much will this cost the State? How many people will the State have to hire? 
From the public notice: 
 
Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased 
appropriation. 
 
Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): 
 
    Initial Year  Subsequent 
    FY 17   Years 
Operating Cost  $ 0   $ 0 
Capital Cost   $ 0   $ 0 
1002 Federal receipts  $ 0   $ 0 
1003 General fund match $ 0   $ 0 
1004 General fund  $ 0   $ 0 
1005 General fund/program $ 0   $ 0 
Other (identify)  $ 0   $ 0 
 
No additional staff are proposed to be hired. 
 
14.  What is a veterinary biologic? Does this include semen? 
  
The proposed definition of veterinary biologic is found at 18 AAC 36.990(49) which states: 
 

(49) “veterinary biologic” or “veterinary biological” or “veterinary biological product” 
mean all viruses, serums, toxins and analogous products of natural or synthetic origin, or 
products prepared from any type of genetic engineering, such as diagnostics, antitoxins, 
vaccines, live microorganisms, killed microorganisms, and the antigenic or immunizing 
components of microorganisms intended for use in the diagnosis, treatment, or 
prevention of diseases in animals. 

 
This definition updates the existing definition from 1982 which states: 
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"biological products," sometimes referred to as a biologicals, biologics, viruses, or 
vaccines, means those products used in the treatment or immunization of animals which 
have as their components live, modified live, or attenuated virus, bacteria, or pathogens 
capable of transmission and spread of transmissible diseases of animals; 

 
Semen is not considered a veterinary biological. 
  
15.  Is the permit for importation of veterinary biologics new? 
 
No. The existing regulations at 18 AAC 36.200 and 18 AAC 36.210 currently state: 
 

18 AAC 36.200. Manufacture and importation restrictions. A person may not 
manufacture in the state, or transport or introduce into the state biological products 
without first obtaining a permit from the state veterinarian. (Eff. 9/1/82, Register 83) 
Authority: AS 03.05.010 
 
18 AAC 36.210. Use Restrictions. A person who is not a licensed veterinarian may not use 
biological products for veterinary purposes without a permit from the state veterinarian. 
(Eff. 9/1/82, Register 83) 
Authority: AS 03.05.010 

 
The proposed regulations repeal both 18 AAC 36.200 and 18 AAC 36.210, and moves the permit 
requirement to a newly numbered section at 18 AAC 36.410, which also specifies the type of 
information that the permit application has to have, the conditions by which the State Vet will 
approve the application, and a clause that the State Vet could revoke an issued permit if it 
serves the interest of animal or public health. 
 
16.  Can I vaccinate my own animals? 
 
Yes. Providing medical care to your own animals, including administering vaccines, is allowed 
and no changes to this are proposed. While certain vaccines have always been restricted for use 
by veterinarians only, there is no change proposed for the vaccines that animal owners 
currently administer to their animals. As stated in Question 15, the same restrictions and 
procedures regarding importation of veterinary biologics, including vaccines, remains the same 
as it is now. 
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